Shaw and Parkway win team championships; Holy Cross wins four consecutive championships
November 16th, 2019 | Written by: Editor



Lakeshore Open Riot on the Red Brusly 8

Three tournaments were held in Louisiana on Saturday, November 16th.  Shaw nipped East Ascension by two points to win the Lakeshore Open.  Parkway dominated the Riot on the Red, defeating runner-up Airline by 90 points.  Holy Cross had the most individual champions with four at the Brusly 8, followed by Catholic with three champions.  Live Oak, St. Amant and Baton Rouge had two champions apiece, and host Brusly had one.

The 2019-20 Terrebonne Tigers at the Lakeshore Open
Terrebonne High School is back.  The Tigers last patrolled the mats in the 2004-5 season and, prior to that, in 1953.  The Tigers, consisting of athletes and a head coach, Coty Knoblock, who have little if any wrestling experience, brought eight entrants to the Lakeshore Open.  They finished tied for 17th place out of 21 teams.  Tiger wrestlers won six matches at the event with Sebastian Collier going 3-1 and placing third.

Lakeshore Open

Team Scores

Place Team Points Place Team Points Place Team Points
1 Shaw 191 8 Chalmette 94 T-15 Central 31
2 East Ascension 189 9 St. Louis 86.5 T-15 St. Michael 31
3 Fontainebleau 129 10 Lakeshore 81 T-17 Pearl River 28
4 St. Paul's 117 11 De la Salle 77 T-17 Terrebonne 28
5 Rummel 105.5 12 Mandeville 62 19 NOMMA 19.5
6 Covington 102 13 John Curtis 44 20 John Ehret 19
7 Dutchtown 95 14 Hannan 34 21 Destrehan 16.5

Weight Class Results

Weight Champion School Runner-up School Score
106 Hayden Tassin Shaw Jacob Baltz Rummel 1:53
113 Glenn Price Shaw Vincent Bruno Mandeville 5:38
120 Raheem Bonnet Shaw Carter Burgess Rummel 0:17
126 Alex Yokubaitis St. Louis David Diecidue Hannan TF 15-0 @ 3:17
132 Anthony Krass East Ascension Sam Davidson St. Paul's 1:41
138 Jamarius Koshko East Ascension Camden Stahl Hannan 2:23
145 Jacob Ramirez Rummel Colton Kendrick John Curtis 4:24
152 Brad Mahoney East Ascension Caden Gaudet John Curtis 5:30
160 Santos Ramos East Ascension Armando Amaya Shaw 2:12
170 Trent Mahoney East Ascension Jacob McKee Pearl River 0:21
182 Richard Cunningham Covington Korey Holmes East Ascension 1:59
195 Christopher Allen Covington Tanner Melendrez Fontainebleau 7-5
220 Logan Ahlborn Fontainebleau Dominick Murry Mandeville 2:41
285 Sam Avenel St. Paul Ethan Delarosa Rummel 0:27

Back to Top

Riot on the Red

The 2019-20 Riot on the Red runner-up Airline Vikings
Airline was evidently not happy with the editor's thoughts about their strength in northwest Louisiana wrestling circles, and to spite him they placed second at the Riot on the Red.  The editor was one-of-four re his predictions, erring by suggesting Byrd would defeat Airline (two flaws) and that North Desoto would even be there.  It is little wonder the editor still needs road signs to get to Bossier City for the state championships even on his fifth trip there.
Team Scores
Place Team Points Place Team Points
1 Parkway 245 7 Airline - Blue 29
2 Airline 155 8 Calvary Baptist 27.5
3 Byrd 130 9 Bossier 27
4 Parkway - Black 100 10 Parkway - Red 23
5 Haughton 73 11 Summerfield 19
6 Caddo Magnate 48 12 Haughton - White 4

Weight Class Results

Weight Champion School Runner-up School Score
106 Ernie Perry, III Airline David Viers Parkway 3:31
113 Memphis Brace Airline Christopher Strong Parkway TF 16-0
120 Garrette Larsen Parkway Waylon Carter Airline - B Medical Forfeit
126 Matthew Born Byrd Tanner Almond Airline 2:47
132 Jordan Clark Parkway Ja'cory Tyler Bossier 9-6
138 Andrew Tamburo Parkway Mason Lambright Airline 4-0
145 Demetri Teddie Byrd Braden Primeaux Parkway 3:13
152 Jacob Yawn Byrd Brody Boone Parkway 1:17
160 Jacob Chittom Parkway Cameron Vaughns Byrd 8-2
170 Christian Otzenburer Calvary Baptist Logan Lewis Byrd 1:37
182 Kaleb Garcia Parkway Steven Driggers Parkway - B 5-0
195 Terrence Murray Parkway Justin Nixon Haughton 16-8 MD
220 Jaden Jones Parkway Mylo Flores Parkway - B 10-7
285 Peyton Miller Parkway Justyn Brossett Parkway - B 1:43

Back to Top

Brusly 8

Weight Class Results

Weight Champion School Runner-up School Score
106 Brandon Gainey Holy Cross Ethan Winchester Catholic 7-1
113 Evan Frost Holy Cross Ty Didier St. Amant 17-2 TF
120 Jacob Frost Holy Cross Kaul Kayser Brusly 11-3 MD
126 Dylan Lauriano Holy Cross Mason Acosta Catholic 6-3
132 Clayton Hill Live Oak Hunter Goodson Catholic 1:08
138 Peter Kelly Catholic Jacob Cardwell St. Amant 8-1
145 Corey Brownell St. Amant Caruso Signorelli Holy Cross Injury Forfeit
152 Andrew Trahan Brusly Anthony Dodson Live Oak 3:56
160 Ian Wyble Catholic Billy Champagne St. Amant 1:53
170 Canon Hunt Catholic Fred Garrison, Jr. St. Amant 3:26
182 Jarin Meyer Baton Rouge Nawab Singh Live Oak 2:50
195 Austin Cook Live Oak James Lauve Catholic 0:57
220 Axel Encalada-Arce Baton Rouge Alex Newman St. Amant 14-10
285 Abdiel Sanchez St. Amant Mason Malarcher Live Oak 1:11

Back to Top

© 2019-20 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.