Vikings, Owls and Panthers win early-December tournaments
December 13th, 2018| Written by: Editor | Contributor: Dale Keeler



Eagle Open

The Airline Vikings won the Evangel Eagle Open on Saturday, December 8th, in Shreveport, scoring 163 points.  Parkway and C.E. Byrd were neck-and-neck with each other, and Parkway took the runner-up honors by one point, 125.5 to 124.5.  Host Evangel and Bossier placed in the fourth and fifth spots.

Oddly enough, the Vikings had no individual champions.  Eight runner-up finishes were enough.  Placing second were Memphis Brace, Mason Lambright, Peyton Bass, Caden Cockrell, Joshua Franklin, Calvin Nieman, Michael Wright, III and Romulus Culpepper were all the Vikings needed.  Airline's remaining three wrestler place third (James Place and Christian Carradine) and fourth (Michael Salinas).

The individual championships were shared by eight of the 12 first-string teams entered.  C.E. Byrd and Parkway each had three champions.  David Viers, Brady Boone and Myles Flores won for the Panthers.  Champions for the Yellowjackets were Matthew Born, Demetri Teddie and Logan Lewis.  Lakeside's Taurio Grigsby and D.J. Harvey won for the Indians, and the remaining championships were won by Mitchell Colgin of Calvary Baptist, Mikey Gordy of Ouachita Christian, William Teppenpaw of Bossier, Zachary Vasquez of San Antonio Christian, TX, Kaden Dean of Evangel and Caddo Magnate's Myles Flores.

Back to Top

Battle of New Orleans

The host Chalmette Owls won the Battle of New Orleans tournament on December 8th, pretty much sending the other teams "a runnin' down the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico," as the song says.  The Owls scored 218 points by putting seven wrestlers in the finals and winning five championships.  Dutchtown and Fontainebleau battled for the runner-up spot, which the Griffins won 122 points to 121 points. Bonnabel (110 points) and Lakeshore (93 points) finished in fourth and fifth places.

Winning for the Owls were Mohammed Abdelhaq, Christian Moore, DaiJon Bibbs, Jalen Ben and Jaden Ben.  Only St. Michael had more than one champion as Cameron Selmon and Lance Robinson won their weight classes.  The other seven winners were Sergio Maldonado of Bonnabel (his second win in as many weeks), Mandeville's Vincent Bruno, Dominic Spizale of Lakeshore, Jamarius Koshko of East Ascension, Austin Martina of Dutchtown, Alex Lozano of East Jefferson and Jeff Fisackerly of East Jefferson.

Paul Aubrey Christmas Tournament

The Parkway Panthers won their second consecutive Paul Aubrey Christmas Tournament at R.L. Turner High School in Carrollton, Texas.  The Panthers won with 249.5 points, 70.5 points ahead of runner-up Creekview (179 points) and 104.5 points over McKinney Christian's 145 points.

Joshua Keeler, Trey Fontenot and Connor Cloinger won individual titles for the Panthers.  Kaleb Garcia and Terrance Murray placed second.

At 106 lbs., Joshua Keeler was voted the tournament's Outstanding Wrestler in the lighter weight classes.

The Paul Aubrey Christmas Tournament champion Parkway Panthers Outstanding Wrestler Joshua Keeler

Back to Top

© 2018-9 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.