South Walton Border Wars seeking a fourth Louisiana team
July 31st, 2018| Written by: Editor



Since its inception in the 2013-14 season, the South Walton Border Wars tournament has been one of the toughest early-season tests for anyone who participates in it.  It includes teams from Florida, of course, and also from Alabama, Georgia and Tennessee.  Louisiana teams have participated in all five events thus far, and in three of those five years a Louisiana team has taken home the championship.

The 2018 Border Wars has 20 committed teams and is looking for another one, preferably from Louisiana.  Three Louisiana teams are already going: Holy Cross, Jesuit and St. Paul's.  The remaining teams come from Georgia, and Tennessee.

Holy Cross, LA Soddy Daisy Ft. Walton Beach Wakulla
Jesuit, LA Pigeon Forge, TN Choctaw, FL Suwannee, FL
St. Paul's, LA South Walton, TN Niceville, FL Clay, FL
Woodward Academy, GA Gulf Breeze, FL Arnold, FL Palmetto Ridge, FL
East Cowetta, GA Pace, FL Mosely, FL Wewahitchka, FL


Interested teams should contact South Walton Coach Carey Nick at (850) 217-9912.


A brief history of Louisiana teams at the South Walton Border Wars

Brusly ran away with the championship in the inaugural Border Wars, outscoring second-place Clay High School by 61.5 points.  Panther champions were Kendon Kayser, Noah Landry and Dillon Prejean.  Tanner Leblanc won for St. Paul's and Conor Karwath won for East Ascension.  Kayser was awarded the Outstanding Wrestler belt for the lighter weight classes.

Brusly - Champions St. Paul's - 3rd Place East Ascension - 11th place

In 2014 a team from Vestavia Hills, Alabama, won by the narrowest possible margin, 1/2-point, over Springstead and Lake Highland Prep., both of Florida.  Jesuit placed fourth.  Rummel freshman Blake Mateu won the event, as did Guy Patron Jr. and Dominic Carmello of Jesuit and Colin Francis of St. Paul's.  Patron won the Outstanding Wrestler belt for the heavier weight classes.

Jesuit - 4th Place Rummel - 9th Place

Vestavia Hills repeated as champion in 2015, and Holy Cross and Jesuit placed 2nd and third respectively.  Even with the high team placements, Patron was the only champion from Louisiana, capturing his second Border Wars title.

Holy Cross - Runner-up Jesuit - 3rd Place

Louisiana struck gold again, or rather "blue and gold," in 2016 as Holy Cross won the event, besting runner-up Jesuit by 45.5 points.  The third-place finishing team was 51 points behind the Blue Jays, making this event a Louisiana romp.  Champions for the Tigers were Jake Rando, Joey Foret, Michael Benton and Spencer Rayes.  Eli Larriviere won for the Blue Jays and Shane Ulfers won a championship for St. Paul's.

Holy Cross - Champions Jesuit - Runner-up

The Tigers repeated as champions in 2017, followed by St. Paul's 36.5 points behind.  But the Louisiana dominance persevered, as the Wolves scored 81.5 more points than the Soddy Daisy, Tennessee team that placed third.  Holy Cross did not have any individual champions, but five Tigers, Jacob Frost, Caruso Signorelli, Michael Lundin, Jacob Spahn and Spencer Rayes were runners-up and Caden Mumme placed third.  St. Paul's won the individual titles.  First Brandon Stein won, and after another finals match was completed, the Wolves captured three consecutive titles Cole Houser, Grant Hughes and Jared Thieler.  For the Blue Jays, Paul Treuting dominated his opponent with a 16-0 technical fall.

Holy Cross - Champions St. Paul's - Runner-up

Back to Top

© 2018-9 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.